Noël Mensah-Bonsu, MD
(term expires 2023)
Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children's Hospital

Jennifer Poon, MD
(term expires 2021)
Medical University of South Carolina


The Education Committee is an interprofessional group of individuals committed to creating and promoting innovative, efficient and effective education in Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics to ensure optimal developmental and behavioral health for all children. Current goals of the committee include developing and promoting DBP curricula for application in multiple fields across the continuum of professional education and developing and promoting best practices in interprofessional training, clinical care and research and evaluation. The committee is open to any member wishing to participate and encourages the participation of fellows.

Recent Activity

The Education Committee holds an annual face-to-face meeting during the SDBP Annual Meeting. The Chairs and immediate past chair also hold monthly conference calls and workgroups participate in conference calls as they are needed throughout the year. The three workgroups, Teaching Workshop Workgroup, Curriculum Workgroup, and eResources Workgroup, have had a very successful year.

The Teaching Workshop workgroup, lead by the chairs, reviews proposals for workshops to be presented at the annual Teaching Workshop. Topics presented focused largely on the use of media in the education of medical students, residents, and developmental-behavioral fellows. The workshop also hosted a lively debate between past presidents, Pamela High and Barbara Howard, on the topic of “Traditional Face-to-Face Teaching vs. eLearning in DBP Education and Training”. As in previous years, the workshop materials have been posted on the SDBP website in the Members Only section.

The eResources Workgroup, led by Katie Lipman, is working diligently to identify education-related resources which will become available on the SDBP website and to initiate a process for submission of education tools to be utilized by rotation and program directors.